The Framework Programme (FP) is the European Union’s main instrument / mechanism for funding Research and Technological Development covering a plethora of sectors. Framework Programme 7 spans from 2007 to 2013 and has a budget of 53.272 billion euros over its seven years lifespan.

FP7 is both larger and more comprehensive than earlier Framework Programmes (FP1 to FP6).

FP7 is the natural successor to the previous programme, FP6 (2002-2006). It is the result of years of consultation with the research community from both the public and private sectors, with economic actors, and with political decision makers in Europe. FP7 is a key tool to Europe's needs in terms of jobs and competitiveness, and to maintain leadership in the global knowledge economy.

Understand FP7 in detail

Categories / Building Blocks of FP7

FP7 is grouped into four major categories/building blocks of activities called “Specific Programmes”, which are as follows:

FP7 also comprises of separate specific programmes addressing Nuclear Research called:

  1. Collaborative trans-national research activities
  2. Industries, universities, research centres, public authorities
  3. Open for European & Third countries
  4. Covers 10 Thematic Areas
  5. Budget - €32.413 Billion
  1. Funds basic or “frontier” research by individual teams
  2. Early stage researchers, fully established investigators at European level can participate
  3. Open only for European countries
  4. Budget - €7.510 Billion

  1. Initiatives in support of Training, Mobility and Career Development of Researchers.
  2. Open for both European & Third countries
  3. International  - “Marie Curie” actions broken down into Five actions
  4. Budget - €4.750 Billion
  1. Aims to enhance research and innovation capacities throughout Europe and ensure their optimal use.
  2. support the coherent development of policies
  3. Operates in seven broad areas 
  4. Open for European & Third coutires
  5. Budget - €4.097 Billion